People

Idalia Ramos, PI & IRG-1 Leader
idalia.ramos@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao

Arjun Yodh, CO-PI & IRG-1 Member
yodh@physics.upenn.edu
LRSM-MRSEC Director at UPENN


Nicolas Pinto, IRG-1 Leader
nicholas.pinto@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao

Pablo Negrón, IRG-1 Member
pablo.negron1@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao


Margarita Ortiz, IRG-1 Member
margarita.ortiz1@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao

Natalya Zimbovskaya, IRG-1 Member
natalya.zimbovskaya@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao


Gary A. Molander, IRG-1 Member
gmolandr@sas.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN

Jorge J. Santiago, IRG-1 Member
santiago@ee.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN


Alan T. Johnson, IRG-1 Member
p.moore@usciences.edu
Professor at UPENN

José Sotero, IRG-2 Leader
jose.sotero@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao


Rolando Oyola, IRG-2 Leader
rolando.oyola@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao

Preston Moore, IRG-2 Member
p.moore@usciences.edu
Professor at UPENN


Vibha Bansal, IRG-2 Member
vibha.bansal@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Cayey

Ezio Fasoli, IRG-2 Member
ezio.fasoli@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao


Victor Pantojas, IRG-2 Member
vpantojas@cayey.upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Cayey

Josee Vedrine, IRG-2 Member
josee.vedrine@upr.edu
Professor at UPR-Humacao


Ivan Dmochowski, IRG-2 Member
ivandmo@sas.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN

Feng Gai, IRG-2 Member
gai@sas.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN


Daeyeon Lee, IRG-2 Member
daeyeon@seas.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN

Mark Licurse, Director of Education
mlicurse@lrsm.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN, LRSM-MRSEC


Andrew R. McGhie, Associate Director
mcghie@lrsm.upenn.edu
Professor at UPENN, LRSM-MRSEC

Deliris N. Ortiz, 2016-2017 IRG-1 Student Representative
deliris.ortiz@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

César A. Nieves, 2016-2017 IRG-1 Student Representative
cesar.nieves1@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


José L. Pérez, IRG-1 Member
j.perezgordillo@yahoo.com
Student at UPR-Humacao

Yareslie Cruz, IRG-1 Member
yareslie.cruz@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Jorge L. Berrios, IRG-1 Member
jorge.berrios3@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Cayey

Christian Ortiz Huertas, IRG-1
christian.ortiz4@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Jansel E. Herrera, Front and Back End Developer
jansel.herrera@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Josean O. Velázquez, Front End Developer
josean.velazquez@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Kevin Díaz, 2016-2017 IRG-2 Student Representative
kevin.diaz4@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Christian Ortiz, 2016-2017 IRG-2 Student Representative
christian.ortiz12@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Ambar S. Delgado, IRG-2 Member
ambar.delgado1@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Jordan Caraballo, IRG-2 Member
jordan.caraballo@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Lilliana Ortiz, IRG-2 Member
lilliana.ortiz@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Luis A. Ortiz, IRG-2 Member
luis.ortiz48@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Nicole Ramos, IRG-2 Member
nicole.ramos8@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Junellie Cruz, 2016-2017 Education Group Student representative & IRG-2 Member
junellie.cruz1@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Paola Alicea, IRG-2 Member
paolalex30@gmail.com
Student at Ramón Power Giralt HS

Joshua Cruz, IRG-2 Member
joshuacruzc@gmail.com
Student at Petra Mercado HS


Saúl Rosa, IRG-2 Member
saul.rosa@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Milagros Rivera, IRG-1 Member
milagros.rivera4@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Cayey


Shamir Maldonado, IRG-1 Member
shamir.maldonado@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Carolyn Carradero, IRG-2 Member
carolyn.carradero@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao


Ahmad Matar, IRG-2 Member
ahmad.matar@upr.edu
Student at UPR-Humacao

Adaliz Torres, IRG-2 Member
adaliz_joan@hotmail.com
Student at UPR-Humacao

David Ernst
Professor at Vanderbilt University

Angel García
Director Center for Nonlinear Studies, Los Alamos National Laboratory


Michael Klein
Professor at Temple University

Luz Martínez
Professor at University of Maryland-College Park


Luis Solá
Indepented Consultant, Retired Senior Research Scientist, Dupont Electronics Materials at Manatí, Puerto Rico

Gilda Jiménez, Outreach Coordinator
gilda.jimenez@upr.edu

Anamaris Meléndez, Laboratory Technician
anamaris.melendez@upr.edu


Marilyn Guzmán, Administrative Coordinator
prem.uprh@upr.edu

PREM Graduates

Over 1,045 minority students, teachers, faculty, and general public (57% women) participated in PREM education and outreach activities that including seminars and videoconferences transmitted from PENN and the Nanodays celebration at local rural schools. Twenty-six (26) students (HS, undergraduate, graduate) engaged in research with PREM faculty in 2014-2015. Twelve (12) PREM students graduated during the 2014-2015 cycle: 5 of them from High School and 7 from UPRH, and most of them continued graduate studies in different universities such as: PENN State, USF, FSU and UPRM, in the Fall 2015. In addition, our students are encouraged to participate in REU programs in USA mainland. In the Summer 2015, universities like U. Utah, U. Minnesota, Notre Dame, Princeton, U. Iowa, accepted 5 PREM participants and other 3 students conducted research at UPRH.

Current Students

IRG 1

Name Major/Department University Mentor Email
César A. Nieves Physics UPR-Humacao Idalia Ramos cesar.nieves1@upr.edu
Deliris N. Ortiz Physics UPR-Humacao Nicholas Pinto deliris.ortiz@upr.edu
Jonathan Ramos Chemistry UPR-Humacao Margarita Ortiz jonathan.ramos19@upr.edu
Jorge L. Berrios Chemistry UPR-Humacao Víctor Pantojas jorge.berrios3@upr.edu
Stephanie Rivera Chemistry UPR-Humacao Margarita Ortiz stephanie.rivera52@upr.edu
Yareslie Cruz Chemistry UPR-Humacao Margarita Ortiz yareslie.cruz@upr.edu
Gabriela Alvalle N/A Petra Mercado HS Idalia Ramos alvallegabriela@yahoo.com
José L. Pérez N/A Petra Mercado HS Idalia Ramos j.perezgordillo@yahoo.com

IRG 2

Name Major/Department University Mentor Email
Carolyn Carradero Physics UPR-Humacao Josee Vedrine carolyn.carradero@upr.edu
Christian Ortiz Microbiology UPR-Humacao Ezio Fasoli christian.ortiz12@upr.edu
Héctor Torres Chemistry UPR-Cayey Vibha Bansal hector.torres40@upr.edu
Jordan Caraballo Computational Mathematics UPR-Humacao José Sotero jordan.caraballo@upr.edu
Jorge L. Berrios Chemistry UPR-Humacao Víctor Pantojas jorge.berrios3@upr.edu
Lilliana Ortiz Chemistry UPR-Humacao Rolando Oyola lilliana.ortiz@upr.edu
Nicole Ramos Microbiology UPR-Humacao Josee Vedrine nicole.ramos8@upr.edu
Kevin Díaz Physics UPR-Humacao Josee Vedrine kevin.diaz4@upr.edu
Luis A. Ortiz Physics UPR-Humacao Josee Vedrine luis.ortiz48@upr.edu
Joshua Cruz N/A Petra Mercado HS José Sotero joshuacruzc@gmail.com

Education

Name Major/Department University Mentor Email
Jansel Herrera Computational Mathematics UPR-Humacao Idalia Ramos jansel.herrera@upr.edu
Josean O. Velázquez Computational Mathematics UPR-Humacao Idalia Ramos josean.velazquez@upr.edu

 

PREM Graduates

Name Major/Department Year Graduated Where are they today?
Giovanni Casanova Comp. Math, UPRH 2016 Working
Normarielli Passalacqua Chemistry, UPRC 2016 Grad Student, MSE, UPR-Mayaguez
Delaine Zayas-Bázan Biology, UPRC 2016 Grad Student, Biochem., PENN
Amber Delgado Biology, UPRH 2016 Research Assistant, UPRH
Luis Mártinez Physics, UPRH 2016 Grad Student, Physics, UTEP
Pablo Sepúlveda Physics, UPRH 2016 Grad Student, Polymer Eng., U. Akron
Gabriel Calderón Physics, UPRH 2016 Grad Student, MSE, OSU
Joshua Robles Physics, UPRH 2015 Grad Student, Physics, USF
Raymond López Physics, UPRH 2015 Grad Student, MSE, Penn Sate
William Serrano Physics, UPRH 2015 Grad Student, Elect. Eng. USF
Fernando Sánchez Physics, UPRH 2015 Working industry
Aixa De Jesús Comp. Math, UPRH 2015 Grad Student, Bio. Math, FSU
Maritza Reyna Chem., UPRH 2015 Grad Student, Chem., UPRM
Radamés Vega Comp. Math, UPRH 2015 Job Searching
Alexander Rosado Physics, UPRH 2014 Grad Student, MSE, Penn State
Clarissa Vázquez Physics, UPRH 2014 Grad Student, Physics, UTSA
Francheska Lebrón Comp. Math., UPRH 2014 Grad Student, Math, UPRRP
Yarely Dávila Microbiology 2014 Grad Student, Georgia State U.
Carlos Cortes Comp. Math., UPRH 2014 Working industry
Héctor Carrasco Physics, UPRH 2014 Moriah Eng. Solutions, PR
Luis Pomales Physics, UPRH 2013 Grad Student, Physical Oceanography, UPRM
Fernando Berríos Comp. Math., UPRH 2013 Working independent programmer
Laura Amadeo Natural Science, UPRC 2013 Grad Student, Nova Southeastern U. College of Pharmacy
Manuel Bonilla Physics, UPRH 2013 Grad Student, Physics, USF
Melissa Dávila Physics, UPRH 2012 Working industry
Xenia Barbosa Physics, UPRH 2012 MS, PhD Student Education, Texas A&M (Jan 2016)
Mirgery Medina Comp. Mathematics, UPRH 2012 Actuarial Analyst, Universal Insurance Co.
Jorge Fernández Comp. Mathematics, UPRH 2012 Working IT Dept. Insurance Company
Janice Dones Physics, UPRH 2012 US Air Force
Dianicha Santana Biology, UPRH 2012 Grad, Pharmacology, U. Ill.-Chicago
Greichaly Cabrera Comp. Math, UPRH Instructor, UPR-Mayaguez 2011 MS Statistics, UPRM, 2015. Math Prof UPRM.
Katherine Carrasquillo Physics, UPRH 2011 MS, PSE, UMASS 2015
Ericka Vélez Chemistry, UPRC 2011 Grad Student, Pharmacy UPRMS
Rut Rivera Physics, UPRH 2010 PhD 2014, MSE, Rutgers. Working Martin Lockheed Martin, NJ.
María Abreu Physics, UPRH 2010 PhD 2015, MSE, U. Rochester. Working GE Global, NY
Axel Rivera Comp. Math., UPRH MS. Comp. Math. U. Utah 2010 Working Intel, San José, CA.
John Morales Comp.Math., UPRH 2010 Working Small Software Company, PR
Abner Ortiz Comp. Math. UPRH. MS Statistics UPRM, 2014. 2010 Working Biostatistics, Amgen.

This material is based upon work supported by the NSF under Grant NO. DMR-1523463.